top of page
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Pinterest
  • Writer's pictureCienna Abara

Sanja Matsuri

The Sanja Matsuri festival is a three day event in Asakuka Sensoji Shrine. Is it held every year on the third weekend in May. It is to celebrate the three founders. It is also one of Tokyo's most popular festivals.


According to a travel guide, "The Sanja Matsuri features about one hundred portable shrines (mikoshi) in which Shinto deities (kami) are symbolically placed into and paraded about the streets to bring good fortune to the local businesses and residents." (https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3063.html)


My dorm manager was the one who shared the festival with me, and I was able to go with two other people from my dorm. The weather has been changing a lot, and it was very hot. There were many food stalls and games that you could play all surrounding the temple.


After the festival I went to the viral Godaime Hanayama Udon restaurant. They are famous for "flat udon". While I don't think it tasted any different, it was a really cool experience. We waited 2 hours to eat the udon, so I don't know if I would go back, but I'm happy I was able to try it!


























3 views

Recent Posts

See All

Osaka

bottom of page